AAOMS Salutes Award Winners During Virtual Conference

Dentistry Today


The American Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons (AAOMS) honored more than 20 award recipients for their accomplishments in education, research, advocacy, and humanitarianism during its 2020 Virtual Annual Meeting, Scientific Sessions and Exhibition.

The awards presentation was held during the virtual opening ceremony of the 102nd AAOMS Annual Meeting, which was dedicated posthumously to maxillofacial trauma expert, author and editor, and award winner Richard H. Haug, DDS.

Gilbert Triplett, DDS, PhD, of Dallas, Texas, received the Robert V. Walker Distinguished Service Award for his significant contributions to oral and maxillofacial surgery (OMS). Triplett is regents professor and acting head of the OMS department at the Texas A&M University College of Dentistry and chief of the OMS division at Baylor University Medical Center.

Previously, Triplett has served as:

  • Head of the dental branch Combat Casualty Care section of the Naval Medical Research Institute in Bethesda, Maryland
  • Director of the OMS residency program at the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio
  • Chair of the OMS and pharmacology department and assistant dean for hospital affairs at Baylor College of Dentistry

Triplett is the author of more than a hundred peer-reviewed articles as well.

Additional award winners include:

  • Clinical Research Awards: Tara L. Aghaloo, DDS, MD, PhD, of Los Angeles, California, and Robert E. Marx, DDS, of Miami, Florida
  • Committee Person of the Year Award: Deepak Kademani, DMD, MD, of Minneapolis, Minnesota
  • Daniel M. Laskin Award for an Outstanding Predoctoral Educator: Warren W. Arrasmith, DMD, of Birmingham, Alabama
  • Donald B. Osbon Award for an Outstanding Educator: David J. Dattilo, DDS, of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
  • Faculty Educator Development Awards: Kyle Ettinger, DDS, MD, of Rochester, Minnesota; Arshad Kaleem, DMD, MD, of Miami; Mark Miller, DMD, MD, of San Antonio, Texas; and Simon Young, DDS, MD, PhD, of Houston, Texas
  • Honorary Fellowship: Pamela Congdon, CAE, IOM, executive director of California Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons, and William C. Passolt, CPA, OMSNIC president/CEO and OMS Foundation chair
  • Humanitarian Awards for Fellows and Members: Jeffrey J. Moses, DDS, of Carlsbad, California, and Sanford L. Ratner, DDS, of Santa Ana, California
  • John F. Freihaut Political Activist Award: Bernard J. Adsell, DDS, of South Bend, Indiana
  • Outstanding Legislator of the Year Award: US Senator Tammy Baldwin (D-Wisconsin) and US Representative Steve Stivers (R-Ohio)
  • Presidential Achievement Award: Stephen A. Sachs, DDS, of New York City
  • Resident Scientific Awards: Corissa Chang, DDS, of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, and Jeffrey Marschall, DMD, MD, of Louisville, Kentucky
  • Special Honorary Fellowship: Robert P. Bentley, BDS, MB BchFDRSRCS, FRCS, FRCS (OMFS), president of the British Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons
  • William J. Gies Foundation Award: Zachary S. Peacock, DMD, MD, of Boston

The OMS Foundation also announced its awards. In alliance with AAOMS, the Foundation strives to enhance patient care quality and safety through advancing innovation in OMS research and education. Its award winners included:

  • OMS Foundation Torch Award: Eric Geist, DDS, of Monroe, Louisiana
  • OMS Foundation Research Recognition Award: Scott B. Boyd, DDS, PhD, of Nashville, Tennessee
  • OMS Foundation Gerald E. Hanson Outstanding Services Award: A. Thomas Indresano, DMD, AAOMS immediate past president
  • OMS Foundation Daniel M. Laskin Award: “Maxillomandibular Advancement Improves Multiple Health-Related and Functional Outcomes in Patients With Obstructive Sleep Apnea: A Multicenter Study,” Journal of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, Issue 2, p. 352-370

Related Articles

Six Leaders Take 2020 Lucy Hobbs Project Awards

Dental Students Take Dentsply Sirona Global Clinical Case Contest Awards

Michigan Dental Student Takes National Leadership Award