Students Take Top Research Awards

Dentistry Today


The Canadian Association for Dental Research (CADR) and the Network for Canadian Oral Health Research (NCOHR) have announced the winners of their 2019-2020 Student Research Awards. The awards will be presented to the winners at the Annual General Meeting of the CADR, which will be held in conjunction with the IADR/AADR meeting in Washington, DC, in March 2020. 

Lina Marin of the University of Saskatchewan won first place in the Senior-Basic Science Research category for “Engineered Salivary Peptides Reduce Enamel Demineralization Provoked by Cariogenic S Mutans Biofilm.” Dr. Walter Siqueira supervised her work. She also will represent Canada during the Unilver/Hatton competition in Washington, DC. 

Madhurima Datta of the University of British Columbia won first place in the Senior-Preclinical Research category for “Predicting Malignant Progression in Low-Grade Oral Dysplasia Using DNA Image Cytometry. Dr. Martial Guillaud supervised her work. She will represent Canada during the Unilever/Hatton competition as well. 

The CADR and NCOHR also bestowed travel awards upon 16 students so they could present their research during the IADR/AADR/CADR meeting in Washington, DC:

  • Trevor Burgess, University of Toronto, for “Polyaspartate-Modified Dental Resins With Remineralizing Capacity”
  • Rachel MacDonald, University of Toronto, for “Increased TNFα and TNFR1 Expression in Oral Malignant Transformation”
  • Gavin Raddal, Dalhousie University, for “Intracanal Antimicrobial Effects on SCAP Viability and Differentiation In Vitro”
  • Kate Richert, University of Toronto, for “The Influence of Trust on Decision-Making, Information Preferences, and Patient Comprehension”
  • Simran Sarao, University of Alberta, for “Occurrence and Risk Factors of Dental Root Perforations: A Systematic Review”
  • Jacqueline Crossman, University of Alberta, for “Temporomandibular Joint Changes in a Juvenile Arthritic Rat Model”
  • Harsimrat Kaur, University of Alberta, for “An In Vitro Study to Evaluate the Biomechanical Systems Associated With Orthodontic Clear Aligners Using an Orthodontic Simulator (OSIM): A Pilot Study”
  • Fatemeh Mohabatpour, University of Saskatchewan, for “Proof-of-Concept Assays for Optimal Enamel Regeneration”
  • Shahrzad Nouri, University of Toronto, for “A Novel Model System to Study the Matrix-Mediated Attachment of Epithelial Cells to Mineralized Tooth Surfaces”
  • Zeeshan Sheikh, Dalhousie University, for “A New Way to Improve Bone Defect Repair and Regeneration: Bone Anabolic Conjugates (C3 and C6) With a Deproteinized Bovine Bone Mineral Xenograft (Bio-Oss)”
  • Xinyun Su, McGill University, for “Cell Extract from Human Bone Marrow Mitigates Irradiation-Injured Salivary Glands”
  • Abdalgader Alhozgi, McGill University, for “Patient Satisfaction With Oral Health Care: Does Rurality Matter?”
  • Babatunde Alli, McGill University, for “HIV Modifies the Effect of Tobacco Smoking on Oral Human Papillomavirus Infection”
  • Maryam Elyasi, University of Alberta, for “Modeling the Theory of Planned Behavior to Predict Preschoolers’ Dental Attendance”
  • Gillian Landzberg, University of Toronto, for “A Novel Self-Mineralizing Antibacterial Tissue Repair (SMART) Varnish to Condition Dentin in Microsurgery”
  • Iris Lin, University of British Columbia, “Determining the Malignant Nature of Dysplasia in Oral Lichenoid Lesions”

Trainees working in dental and oral health research in Canada applied for the Unilever/Hatton Divisional Awards and the CADR-NCOHR Student Research Awards by submitting a manuscript describing their studies. The competition was judged by a panel of 26 dental researchers from across Canada based on the criteria applied by the IADR Hatton judging committee. 

Related Articles

Orthodontic Research Competition Now Open for Submissions

Clinician Training Correlates With Dental Implant Success

Mindfulness Classes Help Dental Residents Manage Stress