American Association of Dental Editors & Journalists Welcomes New Board Leadership

The American Association of Dental Editors & Journalists
American Association of Dental Editors & Journalists


American Association of Dental Editors & Journalists

The American Association of Dental Editors & Journalists (AADEJ) has announced its 2021-2022 board leadership members. The newly appointed board leaders will help advance the Association’s mission of improving communication within the dental profession and elevating the standards of dental journalism.

The recently elected board leadership members are:

Dr. Stuart Segelnick, editor of the Second District Dental Society of New York SDDS Bulletin and the Northeastern Society of Periodontists NESP Bulletin. Dr. Segelnick will serve as AADEJ President. He was the recipient of the ICD Journalism Silver Scroll Award in 2016 and the ICD Journalism Newsletter Award in 2019.

Dr. Segelnick has co-edited five books on dentistry and is a fellow of the Pierre Fauchard Academy, the International College of Dentists, and the American College of Dentists. He is also an Adjunct Clinical Professor at NYU Dentistry in the Department of Periodontology and Implant Dentistry.

Ann Marie Gothard, Vice President, Global Corporate Media Relations at Henry Schein, Inc. Ms. Gothard will serve as AADEJ President-Elect. Ms. Gothard leads all strategic media relations for Henry Schein and Henry Schein Cares, the company’s global corporate social responsibility program. During her career, she has published numerous annual reports and special-interest publications, as well as produced short- and long-form videos that have been recognized for excellence in graphic design, editorial content, and overall communications effectiveness.

Dr. Hugh Wunderlich, DDS, CDE, editor of the Florida Dental Association. Dr. Wunderlich will serve as AADEJ Vice President. He recently retired from 40 years of general practice in Palm Harbor, Florida. Dr. Wunderlich has also served as editor of the West Coast District Dental Association and the Florida Section of the International College of Dentists for 30 years. He is a fellow in PFA, ACD, ICD and was awarded the Gies and the ADA’s Distinguished Editor award.

Denise Maihofer, a member of AADEJ for 11 years and founder of a design and production company for dental publications. Ms. Maihofer has been re-elected as AADEJ Secretary and Treasurer. She began her career as a multi-media specialist and coordinator for General Motors. In 1990, Ms. Maihofer launched her design and production company, which covers a wide range of creative services from branding to promotional to display projects. She began her involvement with dental publications in 1992.

The Board also announced that Dr. Daniel Orr II, BS, DDS, MS (anesthesiology), PhD, JD, MD, will continue as Editor-in-Chief of the AADEJ Communicator, the official publication of the AADEJ that serves to inform the members of new developments in dental journalism, to record the pertinent affairs of the association, and acts as a forum for the discussion of journalistic problems.

Dr. Orr is an Oral & Maxillofacial Surgeon, Dentist Anesthesiologist, and an attorney practicing in Las Vegas, NV. Dr. Orr is the Editor of the Nevada Dental Association Journal, a Past President of the American Association of Dental Editors and Journalists, is currently a member of several editorial boards, and also peer reviews articles.

Additionally, Dr. Richard Roadcap has been appointed Interim Program Chair to assist with creating a tailored curriculum of workshops to enhance publishing and editorial skills, as well as seminars offering new dental editors access to skill-building sessions focused on publication design, content choice, and business activities.

Dr. Roadcap was a US Army dentist with assignments in Virginia and overseas. He is a graduate of VCU School of Dentistry, and the College of William & Mary. For the last thirteen years, Dr. Roadcap has served as Editor for the Journal, a quarterly dental industry magazine published by the Virginia Dental Association.

He is also Editor of KEY, a publication of the International College of Dentists, USA Section.

“We at the AADEJ are always listening and striving to make a difference,” said Dr. Segelnick. “There is no doubt with our continuing education courses, Certified Dental Editor certification, and publication approval process, along with the opportunity to network with other editors and communicators, the AADEJ is a highly valuable asset to our membership. Communication is crucial to dental organizations success.  We encourage editors and staff associated with the production of dental publications, as well as others interested in dental journalism, to consider joining us and more importantly becoming involved in our premiere dental communication association.”


The AADEJ was chartered in 1931 and is composed of dedicated people specifically interested in improving communication within the dental profession and in elevating the standards of dental journalism. The organization is committed to the establishment and encouragement of responsible editorial policy.

In 2021, the AADEJ celebrated its 90th anniversary and became a non-geographic section of the American College of Dentists.

Member publications represent state dental associations, component societies, dental specialty groups, alumni, dental auxiliary, student, and commercial publications.

To learn more about the AADEJ and get information on becoming a member, please visit

FEATURED IMAGE CREDIT: kzd from Pixabay.