AAE Names 2019 Award Winners

Dentistry Today


The American Association of Endodontists (AAE) has announced the recipients of its 2019 awards, which will be presented at its annual meeting in Montreal in April.

“We are honored and thrilled to announce the winners of our top awards and to celebrate their achievements in the endodontic specialty,” said AAE president Patrick E. Taylor, DDS. “These five AAE members stood out as leaders within the research, education, and service communities, and we are incredibly proud to be presenting them with these awards. 

Louis E. Rossman, DMD, will receive the Edgar D. Coolidge Award, AAE’s highest honor, in recognition of his extraordinary leadership and exemplary dedication to dentistry and endodontics. Rossman is a clinical professor of endodontics and overseer at the University of Pennsylvania School of Dental Medicine as well as a past president of the AAE.

Markus Haapasalo, DDS, PhD, will receive the Louis I. Grossman Award for cumulative publication of significant research studies that have made an extraordinary contribution to endodontology. Active in various dental organizations, he has written or cowritten more than 200 scientific articles in peer-reviewed journals. He also has served as editor of several endodontic and dental journals, including the Journal of Endodontics

Glenn R. Walters, DDS, BDS, will receive the Calvin D. Torneck Part-Time Educator Award for his contributions to endodontics through his dedication as a part-time educator. He currently teaches at the University of Texas Health and Science Center in San Antonio and has held dozens of leadership positions on various boards and at various academic institutions. 

James D. Johnson, DDS, MS, will receive the IB Bender Lifetime Educator Award, recognizing how his contributions to endodontics in education have demonstrated excellence through selfless commitment to full-time educational pursuits and who has inspired students to pursue excellence in their careers. He is a professor and chair at the University of Washington School of Dentistry. 

Avina K. Paranjpe, BDS, MS, PhD, MSD, will receive the Edward M. Osetek Award, which honors full-time educators with less than 10 years of teaching experience who have earned the respect of both students and faculty. She is an associate professor in the Department of Endodontics at the University of Washington and a part of the 2018-2019 American Dental Education Association Leadership Institute.

Related Articles

OHA to Honor Dr. Larry Coffee at 2019 Gala

AAE White Paper Outlines Endodontic Guidelines for General Dentists

Video Educates Patients About Imaging’s Role in Root Canals