ADA Elects and Installs New Officers During 2020 Meeting

Dentistry Today


The ADA installed Daniel J. Klemmedson, DDS, MD, as its 157th president during its ADA FDC Virtual Connect Conference 2020, a joint meeting between the ADA and the Florida Dental Association (FDA). The organization also named Cesar R. Sabates, DDS, its president-elect among its other new officers.

An oral and maxillofacial surgeon from Tucson, Arizona, Klemmedson has been an active member of the ADA for many years and has served on its Council on Dental Benefit Programs and its strategic planning committee. Also, Klemmedson has served as the 14th District trustee and in the House of Delegates.

Klemmedson also is a past president of the Arizona Dental Association, the Southern Arizona Dental Society, the Western Society of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons, and the Arizona Society of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons. He has earned multiple awards as well, including the Arizona Dental Association’s Dentist of the Year Award and the Hall of Fame Service Award.

A fellow of the American Board of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, Klemmedson is a member of the Academy of Dentistry International, the American Cleft Palate-Craniofacial Association, and the American Medical Association. Plus, he has received fellowships from the American College of Dentists, International College of Dentists, and Pierre Fauchard Academy.

After graduating from the University of Southern California (USC) School of Dentistry, he then earned his medical degree from the USC School of Medicine. He maintains a private practice in Tucson and serves as an attending oral and maxillofacial surgeon on the cleft palate and craniofacial team at Children’s Clinics.

A general dentist with a private practice in Coral Gables, Florida, Sabates served as the 17th District trustee from 2016 to 2020 and was a member of the House of Delegates from 2000 to 2016. Also, he is a past president of the FDA and the South Florida District Dental Association. He holds a DDS from the University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Dentistry.

Sabates also has earned fellowships from the International College of Dentists, the American College of Dentists, and the Pierre Fauchard Academy. He is a member of the Academy of General Dentistry and the Hispanic Dental Association, as well as founding president of the Dental Lifeline Network-Florida, serving as president from 2011 to April 2020.

Additionally, the ADA elected Maria Maranga, DDS, an endodontist from Aquebogue, New York, its second vice president. She has held numerous leadership positions with the ADA, including delegate from 2019 to 2020 and chair of the ADA Council on Membership from 2016 to 2017. She is a graduate of the ADA Institute for Diversity as well.

Newly installed trustees include:

  • Michael D. Medovic, DDS, a general dentist from Wheeling, West Virginia, representing the Sixth District
  • Gary D. Oyster, DDS, a dentist from Raleigh, North Carolina, representing the 16th District
  • Scott L. Morrison, DDS, MS, a periodontist in Omaha, Nebraska, representing the Tenth District
  • Chad R. Leighty, DDS, a general practitioner in Marion, Indiana, representing the Seventh District
  • Rudolph T. Liddell, DMD, a general practitioner in Brandon, Florida, representing the 17th District.

Related Articles

ADA to Host SmileCon Next October in Las Vegas

Fewer Than 1% of Dentists Have Tested Positive for COVID-19

Should Dentists Get the COVID-19 Vaccine? The ADA Offers Guidance