New Officers Installed To American Academy Of Periodontology (Aap) Board Of Trustees



Chicago (October 1, 2013) — New officers of the American Academy of Periodontology’s Board of Trustees were installed at the 99th Annual Meeting held September 28 through October 1, 2013 in Philadelphia. Leading the Board of Trustees is newly appointed President Dr. Stuart J. Froum, DDS, of New York City.

“I am extremely honored to work with a phenomenal team of periodontists during my term as President. The AAP has many new and exciting initiatives planned for 2014, which also marks the 100th Anniversary of our organization. We have a solid leadership team in place and we will strive to guide the periodontal profession in the right direction,” says Dr. Froum.

Dr. Stuart Froum maintains a private periodontal practice in New York City. In addition, he is a clinical professor of periodontics and implant dentistry and the Director of Clinical Research in the Department of Periodontics and Implant Dentistry at New York University Dental Center. Dr. Froum also serves as a clinical assistant professor in periodontics at the Stony Brook University School of Medicine. Dr. Froum received his dental degree from New York University College of Dentistry, and he completed his periodontal residency at New York Veteran’s Administration Hospital. Dr. Froum has been a member of the AAP since 1971 and a Diplomate of the American Board of Periodontology since 2004.

“This year’s officers bring with them a wealth of knowledge and clinical experience to the AAP Board of Trustees. Together, we will work to move the Academy forward as leaders in the advancement of periodontal health and continue to promote excellence in the practice of periodontics,” states Dr. Stuart Froum.

Trustee appointments include:
Joan Otomo-Corgel, DDS, MPH, President Elect: A resident of Manhattan Beach, California, Dr. Otomo-Corgel is an Associate Clinical Professor in the Department of Periodontics at the University of California at Los Angeles (UCLA) School of Dentistry, and maintains a private practice limited to periodontics, oral medicine and implantology in Los Angeles. She also serves as faculty and chair of research at the Greater Los Angeles Veteran’s Affairs Health Care Center Dental Service. Dr. Otomo-Corgel received her Bachelor of Arts in Zoology from California State University – Fresno; her dental degree from the UCLA School of Dentistry; and completed her periodontal residency at the West Los Angeles Veteran’s Affairs Medical Center. Dr. Otomo-Corgel also holds a Masters in Behavioral Sciences and Health Education from the UCLA School of Public Health. She has been a member of the AAP since 1977.

Wayne Aldredge, DMD, Vice-President: A practicing periodontist with an office in Holmdel, New Jersey, Dr. Aldredge has more than 15 years of experience in dentistry. He is also a Clinical Assistant Professor in the Department of Periodontics and Dental Implantology at Stony Brook University and an attending faculty member at Newark Beth Israel Hospital. Dr. Aldredge received his Biology degree from Stockton State College; his D.M.D. from the University of Medicine and Dentistry- New Jersey Dental School; completed his Advanced Education in General Dentistry at Moncrief Army Community Hospital at Fort Jackson in Columbia South Carolina; and earned his post-graduate periodontal degree at the State University of New York at Stony Brook. Dr. Aldredge has also practiced general dentistry as an army captain at the United States Military Academy at West Point. He has been a member of the AAP since 1995 and is Board Certified by the American Board of Periodontology.
Terrence J. Griffin, DMD, Secretary/Treasurer: Dr. Griffin is a resident of Boston, Massachusetts, where he maintains a private practice. Dr. Griffin was a member of the AAP Board of Trustees from 2003 to 2009, and served on eight committees. Dr. Griffin operated as the chair and director of the periodontology program at Tufts University for fifteen years. Dr. Griffin received his Biology degree from Boston College and his D.M.D. from Tufts University School of Dental Medicine. Following his completion of dental school, Dr. Griffin completed two years in the United States Navy where he fulfilled a one-year fellowship in periodontics. After the completion of his two-year tour of duty, he rejoined Tufts University as a Postdoctoral Fellow in Periodontology. He received his Certificate of Advanced Graduate Studies in Periodontology in 1975. Dr. Griffin is Board Certified and has been a member of the AAP since 1973.
Nancy L. Newhouse, DDS, MS, Immediate Past President: In addition to her private periodontal practice in Independence, Missouri, Dr. Newhouse is also an assistant professor at the University of Missouri – Kansas City School of Dentistry. She has been a Diplomate of the American Board of Periodontology since 1989. A member of the AAP since 1983, Dr. Newhouse has previously served on multiple AAP committees including the Executive Committee, the American Dental Association Liaison Committee, the Task Force on Consumer Awareness, the Task Force on Membership Value, Finance Committee, Planning Committee, and Awards Committee. Dr. Newhouse received her dental degree from University of Missouri – Kansas City School of Dentistry in 1980 and completed her postgraduate work in periodontology at University of Texas Health Science Center- San Antonio in 1986.

About the American Academy of Periodontology
The American Academy of Periodontology (AAP) is an 8,400-member professional organization for periodontists — specialists in the prevention, diagnosis, and treatment of diseases affecting the gums and supporting structures of the teeth, and in the placement of dental implants. Periodontists are also dentistry’s experts in the treatment of oral inflammation and receive three additional years of specialized training following dental school. Periodontics is one of the nine dental specialties recognized by the American Dental Association. For more information, visit