Touro Honors Students, Faculty, and Partners at Annual Gala

Dentistry Today


The Touro College of Dental Medicine (TCDM) held its fourth annual Gala at the Westchester Hilton in Rye Brook, New York, on November 17.

The event was TCDM’s largest Gala to date, bringing together more than 300 supporters and leaders from the region’s dental community to raise funds to support student scholarships and provide dental services to underprivileged patients.

Students from TCDM’s inaugural class of 2020 also attended the evening, which paid special tribute to them as they prepare for their careers and residencies ahead as the school’s first graduates.

The Gala also celebrated TCDM’s partners in technology, honoring four companies for advancing dentistry and for their commitment to dental education.

TCDM recognized Golda Erdfarb, DDS, an associate professor of medicine, with its student-nominated Faculty of the Year Award as well in honor of her excellence in teaching and her dedication in advancing dental education. 

“Over the past year, TCDM has worked tirelessly alongside its students, faculty, staff, partners, and the Hudson Valley community to differentiate ourselves as a community-oriented, technology-first dental school,” said Ronnie Myers, DDS, dean of TCDM. 

“We are extremely grateful for the partnerships we have formed and will continue to seek collaboration with those committed to innovation and leadership for the future of dental medicine,” said Myers.

Tais Clausen, cofounder and chief executive officer of 3Shape, was honored with the Distinguished Visionary Leadership Award. 

“We are fortunate to partner with 3Shape to produce native digital dentists who, from their earliest days in dental school, are learning digital dental concepts and principles relevant to the practice environment of 2030,” said Edward F. Farkas, DDS, MA, vice dean of TCDM.

“The future of dentistry is bright, but it is bright because it is being driven by the relentless innovation of people like Tais and companies like 3Shape and our other honorees,” Farkas said.

Prior to the event, Clausen visited the school to meet with students and faculty to discuss collaborations and open a dialog about technology enhancements.

“3Shape and Touro share a common passion and vision to transform dentistry from an analog world into a new, exciting digital world where we are providing improved patient care and better treatment outcomes,” said Clausen. 

Other honorees included:

  • Innovation in Dentistry Award: Andrew Oransky, president and CEO of Roland DGA, and Ian O’Neill, eastern sales manager of Roland DGA
  • Transformative Technology Award: Jerry Kent, chairman and CEO of Tierpoint, and Tony Rossabi, executive vice president and chief revenue officer of Tierpoint
  • Corporate Partnership Award: Behan Venter and Michael Schreibman, cofounders and managing directors of Hudson River CIO Advisors

Related Articles

Touro College of Dental Medicine Joins Program That Treats Holocaust Survivors

Touro Dental Health Expands to 109 Chairs

Touro Implements Strict Prescription Policy to Reduce Opioid Use