New Officers Elected, New Trustee Installed At American Association Of Orthodontists

ST. LOUIS, May 15, 2013 — The American Association of Orthodontists (AAO) elected officers for 2013-14 and installed a new member of the Board of Trustees at its 113th Annual Session, held recently in Philadelphia.
Gayle Glenn, DDS, MDS was elected president of the AAO. She is in private practice in Dallas, Texas. In addition to her years of service on the AAO Board of Trustees, which began in 2004, Dr. Glenn has been active in organized orthodontics and dentistry for many years. She is a past president of the Southwestern Society of Orthodontists (SWSO) and the Texas Association of Orthodontists, and is a past member of the AAO House of Delegates. Dr. Glenn represented the SWSO on the AAO Council on Orthodontic Practice. On the state level, Dr. Glenn served the Texas Dental Association as a member of its Council on Membership.
“I look forward to working with the diverse organizations that comprise organized dentistry in North America and abroad,” Dr. Glenn said. “We can ensure delivery of the highest quality of care to our patients through our collective efforts in advocacy, dental education, clinical research and public education. There are many challenges ahead, and as we work together, we can achieve our shared goal of helping our patients realize optimal dental health through access to affordable care.”
Robert E. Varner, DMD, of Roseburg, Ore., was elected president-elect. Morris N. Poole, DDS, of Logan, Utah was elected secretary-treasurer. Dr. Poole also represents the Rocky Mountain Society of Orthodontists on the AAO Board of Trustees.
Norman J. Nagel, DDS, MS, of Camarillo, Calif., was installed as the new Trustee on the AAO Board of Trustees. He succeeds Dr. Varner as the representative of the Pacific Coast Society of Orthodontists (PCSO).
The PCSO serves AAO members practicing in Alaska, Arizona, California, Hawaii, Idaho (Twin Falls and Ketchum and all areas west within the state), Nevada, Oregon and Washington, the territorial possessions of the United States in the Pacific area, the Canadian provinces of Alberta, British Columbia and Saskatchewan, and the Yukon and Northwest Territories of Canada. The PCSO is one of the AAO’s eight constituent societies.
In addition to Drs. Glenn, Varner, Poole and Nagel, the AAO Board of Trustees includes: Hugh R. Phillis, DMD Nashua, N.H., Northeastern Society of Orthodontists; Nahid Maleki, DDS, MS, Washington, D.C., Middle Atlantic Society of Orthodontists; Brent E. Larson, DDS, MS, Minneapolis, Minn., Midwestern Society of Orthodontists; DeWayne B. McCamish, DDS, MS Chattanooga, Tenn., Southern Association of Orthodontists; Christopher A. Roberts, DDS, MS, Great Lakes Association of Orthodontists; J. Kendall Dillehay, DDS, MSD, Southwestern Society of Orthodontists; John F. Buzzatto, DMD, MDS, Allison Park, Pa., immediate past president; Vincent G. Kokich, Sr., DDS, MSD, Tacoma, Wash., editor-in-chief of the American Journal of Orthodontics and Dentofacial Orthopedics; and Gary R. Baughman, DDS, MS, Stockton, Calif., Speaker of the AAO House of Delegates.
The AAO is a professional association of educationally qualified orthodontic specialists dedicated to ethically advancing the art and science of orthodontics and dentofacial orthopedics and improving the health of the public by promoting quality orthodontic care.
The AAO is recognized by the American Dental Association as the specialty organization for orthodontists. The AAO has more than 17,000 members in the United States, Canada and abroad. It is the oldest and largest dental specialty organization in the world.
The AAO’s public website is, and its website for members is